Go to the Main Business Forum page

Creating copywriter worker bees...the disappointing state of creativity. [Archive] - SOWPub Small Business Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Creating copywriter worker bees...the disappointing state of creativity.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

GordonJ
April 28, 2016, 10:48 AM
23 people later.

I'm hoarse, tired of explaining and overall disappointed.

On April 21, I posted at the Cult of Copy Job Board. Since then, and subsequent posting here, I've spoken with 23 such people. Both sexes. All ages, from total newb to experienced pro.

And my conclusion? Again. Since I've already had one...

Pareto Rules. 80% want to become worker bees.

Oh, they think they want to be "Freelancers", copywriters living the beach/internet life style, sitting with rum filled coconut in lap, leisurely hammering out their masterpiece sales letter which is going to sell untold millions of dollars for some guru or the other.

Until a freelancer has a control, or writes a breakthrough, or has a bucket of results, they, for the most part are just working for their living, and it isn't glam nor prosperous.

Gary Halbert, in the very beginning of his career, often conferred with a local businessman I worked for (where I met Gary)...and he was instructed to

"create your own product".

Back then, we all loved the little report, book or "Print". Cassettes were NEW, and just in the early stages of being bundled into information products.

So, every copywriter I encountered then, was like today's fledgling actor with a Sit-Com script in his man bag...the copy guys were

CREATING their own products.

Bud Weckesser built Green Tree Press from the start up product 101 Ways to Prepare Hamburger. Somewhat ironically, he shared a local printer for one of Gary Halbert's first works on social security. Printing and mail were cheap, and INFORMATION was easily sold in supermarket tabloids and newspapers via eensy-teenie little ads.

OK. OK, and get on with it old man....