SOWPub Small Business Forums

SOWPub Small Business Forums (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/index.php)
-   Original SOWPub Forum Archive (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Business During the Holiday Season (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=577)

Julie Jordan Scott November 24, 2000 10:00 PM

Business During the Holiday Season

Hi Sowpub People!

I am planning for December...well, its an ongoing thing, and I am trying to think how to have the most effective month even with the holidays looming on the horizon.

I noticed in one of my teleclasses last Monday (right before Thanksgiving in the US when a lot of folks were thinking Turkey instead of learning) that attendance was WAY down, (these folks had PAID to be in the class, so I made my fees anyway)...and it got me to thinking this may be a trend until January.

This is my first year in business at this time, so any thoughts any of you have to create this time powerfully would be most helpful.

What have you done in the past? What are you doing now? What have the outcomes been?

Any input would be fantastic!

With Purpose and Passion,

JULIE JORDAN SCOTT

Dare to Discover Your Passion, Decide to Live Your Destiny!

Dien Rice November 24, 2000 10:57 PM

Re: Business During the Holiday Season

Hi Julie!

That's an interesting observation....

I've read that in mail order businesses, the months leading up to Christmas are slow.... Maybe because people prefer to buy their presents in retail stores?

And everyone has Christmas presents on their mind....

Maybe it's the same effect online?

But I know that in mail order businesses, sales start to pick up again in January....

Can anyone provide more info on this effect?

Dien Rice

Dien Rice November 25, 2000 02:10 PM

Here's what affects direct response rates....

Hi Julie,

Here's more information I've dug up which might be relevant to your observations....