SOWPub Small Business Forums

SOWPub Small Business Forums (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/index.php)
-   Original SOWPub Forum Archive (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Regarding aptitude tests. (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2580)

Steve MacLellan May 9, 2002 06:17 PM

Regarding aptitude tests.

I was reading the latest Seedzine and the discussion of aptitude tests brought back a few memories. Thank-you Gordon, it was a great article. I tend to agree with your assessment on aptitude tests -- that they really aren't worth the paper they are written on, because they try to classify people into groups, without taking into account the persons' drive, motivation, passions or anything else that makes him/her an individual.

I had some of those test too. Tests proved that I didn't have the aptitude to do fine work where a lot of mathematics would be involved. Yet I was an electronic technician.

Three years ago I was assessed by the Employment Insurance agency in Canada. They didn't bother to test me. I was inquiring about applying for government funding to take some IT courses. The professionals decided I did not have the aptitude to operate a computer.

Whether it is tests, family, friends or people in a position of authority, there is someone always someone around to tell you just why you can't do something. You aren't smart enough, you're too old, you're too fat, you're the wrong color, you're just too too.

You have to take a look at the source. Can a piece of paper written by a bureaucrat who pushes pencil at a desk, who has never flown an airplane -- what qualifies him to tell you that you can't? And if he does -- isn't that proof that the bureaucrat or committee or educational institutional has a closed mind on the possibility? If the mind is closed -- how can it accept new data? It doesn't. Can it be right? Absolutely not.