SOWPub Small Business Forums

SOWPub Small Business Forums (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/index.php)
-   Original SOWPub Forum Archive (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Advice please from the masters (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3024)

Jim October 11, 2002 09:32 AM

Advice please from the masters

I design small flash intros for websites. They are placed at the beginning of the webpage.and can consist of your logo or whatever.My question for you is this.How would I begin to find the people who would be interested in this custom service?I'm not very good at marketing. I would like to offer this service for a very modest price and not gouge people.
Any suggestions and ideas would be greatly appreciated.Thanks.
Jim

Dave Vallieres October 11, 2002 09:58 AM

Re: Advice please from the masters

Jim,

I'm no 'master'. But here's a few suggestions to get you started:

1. Put a link at the bottom of your posts (here on SowPub) and elsewhere. If your asking legitimate questions and responding with helpful answers, it's no problem putting a link at the bottom of each post back to your web site for more info.

2. On your web site make sure you have examples of your work. Anyone interested in your services will want to know what you can do.

3. When you say you don't want to 'gouge people' with your prices, I'm assuming you're still going to make a profit! Inexpensive is good... but make sure you build in a good and healthy profit on each project, or be able to sell additional products and services to your customers in the future.

In the marketing biz it's called 'lifetime customer value' - what your customer will be worth to you as they keep buying more and more from you.

And don't be shy about asking for money and making a good profit. That's the only way you'll stay in business ;-)