SOWPub Small Business Forums

SOWPub Small Business Forums (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/index.php)
-   SOWPub Business Forum (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Sticky Question that Needs a Great Response (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1824)

Bizcoach Dianne October 14, 2006 03:07 PM

Sticky Question that Needs a Great Response

Hope you can help me with this question. As a coach and consultant, I very often freely discuss the "what" and the "why" on the topic of marketing and business development and also on web design and SEO. The "how" is the service that I provide. Every now and then I get someone who asks a pointed question about the "how", particularly on SEO.

I have not yet come up with a polite way to respond - not answer - the question that conveys the message that "that's the paid service" without sounding like I am withholding some big secret.

What's a great response?

Even if I give a broad overview type comment followed by "we'll go into much more detail as part of our working together", there is always the person who probes about the "how". Sometimes it's clearly because they want to do it themselves, but often times, it's someone who is just trying to clarify for themselves what will be happening and they don't realize that they are asking for "behind the curtain" information.

A short phrase or sentence that I can easily insert into the conversation would be great. I don't want to make it a huge issue but I do want to establish the boundary.

I know that if the question were asked of IBM or McKinsey & Co., the response would not be "that's how I earn my living". I'd like something more professional than that.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Business Development Coach Dianne

Skip Rosell October 14, 2006 03:34 PM

Re: Sticky Question that Needs a Great Response

At the point they ask the question "how" you have to find out if they want to know how so they can do it themselves or if they are really interested.