SOWPub Small Business Forums

SOWPub Small Business Forums (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/index.php)
-   SOWPub Business Forum (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   I just send an email (http://www.sowpub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3707)

Joetrevison February 10, 2007 10:51 AM

I just send an email

To a guy that wants to sell my another book on copywriting. Here is what I wrote:

I know most of this stuff anyway. I have been study it for years. I know bullets and testimonials and all that stuff. I studied Melvin Powers, Joseph E. Cossman. Your lost books. Sizzle from the great Elmer Wheeler and Dan S. Kennedy, Jay Abraham, "Magic Words that Bring You Riches' by Ted Nicholas and "Making Money in Your Underwear!" and so much more. My office downtown and Here at the home office are full of these guys and many others. If I was left alone on a Island I would take just 3 books: "The Letter Book" by Robert Collier, "How to Write Letters That Sell" by Christian H. Godefroy, and How to Attain Your Desires' by "Genevieve Behrend

See I don't need to know whats in another book. Because these guy told it all. Oh Yes, I have 3 of the works of the great copywriter Eugene M. Schwartz books, two on copywriting and one on eduction. The one on education was the cheapest one. You go figure.

Ankesh February 10, 2007 01:40 PM

Re: I just send an email

Why would you want marketing books when you're stuck on an island?

And actually - those guys haven't told it all. Not even close.

All those books do is give you a good base to marketing. But some of the books that have come out in the last decade have been mind blowing.

* The Tipping Point.

* Waiting for Your Cat to Bark (actually reads like a textbook - but there were some amazingly new concepts in there that Cossman, Abraham, Kennedy et al have never talked about.)

* The Irresistible Formula

* The Wizard of Ads

* Why We Buy